The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service


The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service is the highest award given to volunteer groups across the UK.


Any group of 2 or more people doing volunteering work can be nominated for the award. The majority of the group must be volunteers, and more than half the volunteers must have the right to live in the UK. The organisation should have been running for 3 or more years to be put forward for an award.

To be nominated they should do work that:

  • provides a service and meets a need for people living in the local community
  • is supported, recognised and respected by the local community and the people who benefit from it
  • is run locally

What the winners receive

Winners receive a certificate signed by the Queen and a domed glass crystal. Representatives from the group may also be invited to attend a royal garden party.


How the winners are decided

Local assessment panels look at all the nominations and decide which ones to send to the National Award Committee.

The committee makes recommendations to the Cabinet Office, which sends a final list to the Queen for her approval.

Winners are announced on 2 June every year.

How to make a nomination

You must nominate a group for the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service online. Nominees are considered for an award the year after they’re nominated.


Submit your nomination by midnight on 16 September 2016 to make sure your group is considered for the 2017 awards. You must be independent of the group you’re nominating. Read the guidance notes before making your nomination.


Support for your nomination

When you nominate a group you also need letters from 2 people who support your nomination and are independent from the group you’re nominating – for example:

  • someone who benefits from the group’s work
  • someone who’s aware of the group’s work

The letters must include:

  • how the group helps the local community
  • how you know the group

For further information contact:

Email if you need help with your nomination, or need to find out more about the award.

In 2016 the two recipients of the QAVs in Gloucestershire were:

  • Gloucester Muslim Association
  • Herefordshire and Gloucestershire Canal Trust